February Reading: LGBTQ Authors/Books

Well, I really enjoyed my January reading challenge. As I mentioned, I’ll continue to seek out books by authors of color throughout the year. This month, I’ve been trying to read books by LGBTQ authors and/or featuring LGBTQ characters.

Unfortunately, I’ve only read three novels so far, due of some overflow from last month. I’m still reading Jhumpa Lahiri’s The Lowland, and the library just notified me that my copy of Rabih Alameddine’s An Unnecessary Woman came in. Too many good books!

Of the books I did read, my favorite was The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily N. Danforth. Set in a small Montana town in the 90s, the novel begins with Cameron’s first kiss with her best friend Irene and her parents’ death in car accident. Cameron spends the following years coping with the loss of her parents and her sexuality, which she struggles to hide from everyone. Danforth creates a great cast of characters (every single supporting character is memorable). And I fell a little in love with Montana after reading her descriptions. This is a excellent book that will appeal to teen and adult readers.

In the meantime, I wanted to talk about how I found books for this month’s challenge. Tumblr has been a great resource for LGBTQ-themed titles, especially YA titles. There are a ton of librarian, library and book-themed Tumblrs out there. Plus, Tumblr (at least corner of it that I’ve explored) is filled with enthusiastic, progressive folks who welcome anyone, including people who aren’t heterosexual or cis-gendered.

Here are a few posts I found useful:

I also love this infographic from Epic Reads:

If you’re interested in libraries or librarians on Tumblr, check out this list (which I know I’ve posted before) from the Lifeguard Librarian or search the #tumblarians tag.

I’ll post some more resources for adult LGBTQ titles tomorrow. Share any books or resources that you like in the comments!

Leave a Reply

