Quick Reviews: A YA Sampler

I have to confess, I didn’t read a lot of YA before library school, even when I was a young adult. Recently, I’ve been trying to catch up a bit. Here a few not-so-new titles I finally read.

The Selection by Kiera Cass

Image via GoodReads

The Selection by Kiera Cass (2012)

  • Series:The Selection (#1)
  • Rating: 3/5
  • What I liked: This is an entertaining, light read. I was surprised to find that I liked America, Prince Maxon and Marlee after a few chapters. Though the plot is a little predictable, I’m interested enough to read the rest of the series.
  • What I didn’t like: The post-WWIV setting isn’t well-developed, and neither are many of the supporting characters. I’m curious to see if that will improve in the Elite. Also, the names America and Aspen had me rolling my eyes at first.
  • Similar titles: the Matched series by Ally Conde
Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

Image via GoodReads

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld (2005)

  • Series: Uglies (#1)
  • Rating: 3/5
  • What I Liked: The plot of Uglies, set in a world in which everyone has an operation at 16 to make them pretty and docile, is really interesting. Westerfeld paces the novel well with a ending that’ll make readers rush to grab the next book (Pretties).
  • What I didn’t like: Nancy Pearl describes 4 doorways that pull readers into a book, and characters are the doorway that interests me most. While Uglies is strong on plot, the characterizations are thin.
  • Similar titles: the Unwind series by Neal Shusterman
An Abundance of Katherines

Image via GoodReads

An Abundance of Katherines by John Green (2006)

  • Rating: 4/5
  • What I liked: John Green writes smart characters very well, and all of the main characters in this book are clever, funny and likable.
  • What I didn’t like: That this wasn’t The Fault in Our Stars (kidding).
  • Similar titles: John Green’s other novelsThe Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.
Leave a Reply

