Web design resources for newbies

One of my library school goals is to be able to build a functional, professional website by the time I graduate. While I learned a lot in my Information Tools course, there’s still a lot I don’t know. Fortunately, there are tons of free tools and resources online. Below I’ve listed some that I’ve found really helpful.

Tips and Tutorials

  • Don’t Fear the Internet – brief, fun videos on HTML and CSS from designers Jessica Hishe and Russ Maschmeyer
  • HTML Dog – articles on HTML, CSS, Javascript, PHP, jQuery and more for a variety of skill levels
  • W3Schools – like HTML Dog, but with a “Try It Yourself” feature that lets you experiment with code
  • WordPress Codex – the online manual for WordPress
  • Codeacademy – learn Javascript in a year or at your own pace

Free Resources

  • Flikr: Creative Commons – photos licensed through Creative Commons. Better than clip art.
  • Subtle Patterns – free, downloadable patterns for web designers. I’m using Arches.
  • Typekit – tons of fonts. The free package includes two fonts for one website.

Design Blogs

One comment

Leave a Reply

